Online at

scope logo Scope

Established in 2005, Scope showcases the work undertaken by the students in the MIT Graduate Program in Science Writing over the course of their year-long studies. First brought out as a quarterly newsletter, Scope transferred to the web in 2008. The content in Scope, continually updated, displays the wide range of writing assignments within the program, from news articles and features to essays, book reviews, radio podcasts, and videocasts.

Managing Editor: Marcia Bartusiak
Editorial Board: Thomas Levenson, Alan Lightman, Phil Hilts, Seth Mnookin
Web Administrator: Shannon Larkin
Correspondents 2012-2013: Abdul-Kareem Ahmed, Leslie Baehr, Alison Bruzek, Hannah Cheng, Zahra Hirji, Trent Knoss, Danya Rumore, Aviva Rutkin, Erin Weeks, and Sarah Yu.

Bringing Scope to the web was partially funded by a generous grant from the American Institute of Physics, as part of its Andrew W. Gemant Award presented to Marcia Bartusiak in 2006.